Caveman’s Tech Corner

March 5, 2009

Forte Carve Pedals

Filed under: Cyclocross Components, MTB Components — Caveman Greg @ 7:35 pm

forte-carveI normally do a bit of research on products before finding out about and deciding to purchase them. These pedals are one of the few exceptions. I don’t remember why exactly I needed a new set of pedals, maybe my other ones died or I got a new bike, but I was keeping an eye out for a good pair at a good price. I happened to be in Performance bikes one day to check out their grand opening and came across these pedals for the ridiculous price of $33. I didn’t know much about them, but they had a published weight of 275 grams (XTR comes in at 295 grams) and for $33 I thought they were worth a try, so I took a pair home with me.

These pedals are fully SPD compatible and mount with ease. The Carves embody the “less is more” way of thinking and are minimally designed with no frills black and unpolished steel. The chassis and axle interface are a trimmed down design without fancy seals and mechanical parts. They do indeed tip the scales lighter than XTR’s. The bearings spin freely after a quick break-in period and even with the lack of seals, dirt contamination seems to be a non-issues. I’ve raced these pedals hard for over 2 years now without any problems. I don’t think I’ve even had to adjust the spring tension. The cleats are a very hard steel and last a long time too. If you wish to disassemble them to clean and repack the bearings, it’s very easy. I now own three pairs of these pedals and consider them to be one of the best component purchases I’ve ever made

Caveman rating

5 out of 5 overall

5 out of 5 value

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.